At the thrilling finale of stage 4, the Women’s Tour, Katarzyna Niewiadoma, Elisa Longo Borghini, and Grace Brown engaged in a baffling sprint. With each athlete giving their best, fans held their hearts to see who crossed the line first. After the heart-pounding match between the group of 10 formed on the last climb, Grace Brown beat the others to mark her first World Women Tour victory.

With the last 100 meters to go, Longo Borghini gave a tough match to Grace Brown and sprinted ahead, but Brown powered up and won the stage. Borghini took third place, while Katarzyna Niewiadoma landed the second spot.


The 29-year-old is ahead of Borghini by 6 seconds and 4 seconds from Niewiadoma. This makes her the new GC leader. The FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope ridder expressed that it was not an easy task. She said:

I knew that, on paper, I had a better sprint than the other two, but coming into the final 500 meters, I was left on the front. That’s never the best place to be for a sprint, especially when it’s a small group.

Nevertheless, she is happy with her first WWT win, as can be seen from her statement:

I played it alright and was able to come around in the end to win, so I’m happy. It was a tough day out, we were on the pedals the whole time, and we didn’t have any respite.


What Happened?

Longo Borghini, Niewiadoma, Elise Chabbey, Kristen Faulkner, Veronica Ewers, and Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio formed a group as they took on the climb with little gap between them where they were joined by Ellen van Dijk, Alexandra Manly, and Grace Brown. This group of ten sprinted passionately to take the win home.

The DSM riders gave their best, but with 50 km to go they had performed out, and now the math was between the front groups. Tension was soaring high in the sky when Van Dijk dropped out with just five kilometers to go. This made Borghini put in extra effort as she and Niewiadoma took to chase brown.

With just 210 meters to the finish line, Borghini gave her best, but she was no match for Brown. Wiebes will be seen in the pink jersey, while Maike van der Duin will wear the red jersey. 

Following are the overall results of top 10:

POS Rider Team Time
1 BROWN Grace FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine-Futuroscope 12:39:11
2 NIEWIADOMA Katarzyna CANYON//SRAM Racing + 04
3 LONGO BORGHINI Elisa Trek-Segafredo + 06
4 MANLY Alexandra Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 13
5 CHABBEY Elise CANYON//SRAM Racing + 17
6 MOOLMAN-PASIO Ashleigh Team SD Worx + 18
7 FAULKNER Kristen Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 46
8 WIEBES Lorena Team DSM + 01:06
9 EWERS Veronica EF Education-TIBCO-SVB + 01:18
10 BERTIZZOLO Sofia UAE Team ADQ + 01:19

Also Read : Egan Bernal Makes First Sprint Past Injury

Featured Image Via YouTube/ The Tour


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here